West Bengal: BJP and TMC lock horns verbally ahead of 2021 Vidhan Sabha elections

BJP TMC 2020 Vidhan Sabha West BengalCredits: New Indian Express

Dilip Ghosh’s BJP and Mamata Banerjee’s TMC lock horns verbally ahead of 2021 Vidhan Sabha elections

Aikantik Bag

The once CPI (M) ruled state faces the right wing nationalist party as the prime opposition

BJP TMP 2020 Vidhan Sabha West Bengal

Credits: theindianwire.com

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said on Wednesday that “a few people are bringing in goons” from other states to curb peace, ahead of 2021 assembly elections.

BJP had a good performance in the recent Bihar elections and the prime opposition eyes Bengal next. In regular clash of words, Kailash Vijayvargiya, BJP National Secretary reacted saying “Such comments reflect the anger and frustration of the TMC and its leadership. It is ludicrous that people from other parts of the country are not welcome in the state, but Bangladeshi intruders are welcomed with open arms as they form the vote bank of the TMC.”

Banerjee’s statement is backed by several incidents in the past, the recent one being Vidyasagar College attack ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. As she prepares to hold her fort for the third consecutive term, BJP West Bengal President Dilip Ghosh said that party president JP Nadda and Home Minister Amit Shah will be visiting the state every month till the elections. He further added that the party has presence in 83 per cent of the polling booths in the state.

Since Banerjee’s first term, she has been accused of minority appeasement and BJP is using it as a trump card to campaign. A decade back, BJP did not have a strong presence in Bengal. Shah in his recent visit met the family of BJP worker Madan Ghorai who was killed in judicial custody in Purba Medinapore. He further questioned and demanded a white paper on “political killings” in the state.

With many TMC leaders shifting to BJP, made them a stronger party in this once left-ruled state.

The changing of party was started by Banerjee’s close aide Mukul Roy— one of the founding members of Trinamool Congress. In the later years, Locket Chatterjee, Arjun Singh and many other members shifted. Singh’s shift was a major blow as the sitting MLA for 18 years resigned to contest 2019 general elections and eventually winning it.

BJP TMC 2020 Vidhan Sabha elections West Bengal

Credits: The Times of India

These shifts have led into shifting of votes, hence BJP won 18 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections.

BJP’s new campaign “Ebar Bangla Parle Shamla” (Now it’s Bengal’s turn, hold on to it if you can) is similar to Banerjee led TMC’s 2011 war cry “Bodla noy Bodol Chai” (We seek change, not revenge).

As Bengal prepares for its assembly elections next year, it is going to be a neck to neck fight between the mighty saffron and grassroots green.