SC’s makeover: 9 new judges appointed

Supreme CourtSource: Hindustan Times

BV Nagarathna to be the first woman Chief Justice of India in 2027

President Ram Nath Kovind, today, approved all nine names recommended by Collegium for appointment as Supreme Court Judges. 

The judges will take oat on 31 August, said government sources.

This is the first time when the Collegium recommended and approved three women judges in a single resolution.

Among the nine names, eight are judges and one is a lawyer from the Supreme Court bar. 

new sc judges

Justice BV Nagarathna

Justice Nagarathna, the third senior-most judge in Karnataka High Court marks history. She will be appointed as the first women Chief Justice of India in 2027, according to seniority. 

The SC Collegium sees her as a candidate with the right experience and age to hold the position.

Surprisingly, her elevation has also been deferred twice in the past Collegium meetings failing consensus.

Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka 

Former Bombay High Court Justice AS Oka was transferred to Karnataka High Court in 2019. He is the senior-most judge and presently the Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court.

Justice Vikram Nath

Justice Vikram Nath practised for 17 years as a lawyer at Allahabad High Court before being elevated to the position of Chief Justice at Gujarat High Court. 

He is the first Indian Chief Justice of an High Court to stream live court proceedings on a YouTube channel.  

Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari

Originally from Madhya Pradesh High Court, Justice J K Maheshwari also held office at Andhra Pradesh High Court and is now the Chief Justice at Sikkim High Court. He was transferred from Andhra Pradesh High Court after the state Chief Minister Yeduguri Sandinti Jagan Mohan Reddy alleged him of attempting to destabilise, and topple his government at the bidding of an SC judge.

Justice Hima Kohli 

Justice Hima Kohli is the first woman to hold office as the Chief Justice of Telangana High Court and has also served as a Delhi High Court Judge.

She will be elevated to the Supreme Court Judge in September, just three weeks before her retirement as a High Court Judge.

Justice CT Ravikumar

Justice CT Ravikumar is the second senior-most Kerala High Court Judge. He sworn in as an additional judge of Kerala High Court on 5 January 2009. Later on, he was appointed as a permanent judge with effect from 15 December 2010. 

Justice MM Sundresh

Justice MM Sundresh holds office as a permanent judge of the Madras High Court.

He has commendable expertise in Civil (Appellate), Criminal and Writ Jurisdiction in the High Court.

Justice Bela Mandhurya Trivedi

Presently serving as Gujarat High Court Judge, Justice Bela M Trivedi was elevated to the position in 2006.

She brought with her the experience of working in the lower judiciary. With her, in the Supreme Court, she will be the only judge who has risen from the ranks to the top court, said sources following the stalemate in collegium over the elevation of Justices DN Patel and Akil Kureshi.

Senior Advocate PS Narasimha

Senior Advocate and former Additional Solicitor General (ASG) PS Narasimha is elevated to the apex court bench directly by the bench.  

He represented Ram Lalla Virajman in the Babri-Ramjanam Bhoomi dispute and was one of the advocates from the Hindu side who was felicitated by VHP and RSS at Ayodhya after the verdict.

By Dikshita Choudhary (Source: ANI)