Rajasthan election: Harish Meena and Habibur Rehman leave BJP, Joined Congress


Harish Meena and Habibur Rehman left BJP and joined Congress last evening. Habibur Rehman was discontent as no tickets were given to Muslims. And Modi’s reducing influence caused Harish Meena to join Congress. The polling for 200 assembly constituencies in the state will be held on the 7th of December.

Deviating from its stand against dynastic politics, the ruling BJP has awarded tickets to close family members of several party leaders to contest the 7 December Assembly election in Rajasthan.

In the BJP’s first list of 131 candidates released on Sunday, 11 November, the party has given tickets to its 85 sitting MLAs and has taken care of the family members of prominent leaders who were denied ticket. Union Minister JP Nadda said that in the list of 131 candidates, there are 12 female candidates, 32 young candidates, 17 from the SC category, 19 from the ST category, and 25 new faces.

BJP was criticized as there are no Muslim candidates in the first list. In 2013, four Muslim candidates had represented the BJP in Rajasthan, and two of them won.

Family Members of Leaders Given attention in ticket-distribution. This has annoyed many a leader.

“Observing that people were unhappy with the Narendra Modi government not fulfilling its promises, Meena described joining Congress as his “homecoming” , Meena Said.

Before entering politics, Harish Chandra Meena was the longest-serving director general of police (DGP) of Rajasthan from 2009 to 2013.

Meena had served as DGP when Ashok Gehlot was the chief minister of the state.

The newly-inducted Congress leader belongs to the Meena community, which is influential especially in east Rajasthan and dominates politics and government services, reported NDTV.

Some prominent names include Ram Swaroop Lamba, senior leader Devi Singh Bhati’s daughter-in-law Poonam Kanwar, former minister Nandlal Meena’s son Hemant Meena from Pratapgarh, former legislator Gurjant Singh’s grandson Gurveer Singh Brar, former legislator Kailash Bhansali’s nephew Atul Bhansali from Jodhpur and former legislator Kunjilal’s son Rajendra Meena from Bamanwas.
Three Muslim leaders denied tickets in the first list, two of them were defeated in 2013 Assembly polls, reported The Economic Times. They are Sagir Ahmed from Dholpur and Salim Tanwar from Mandawa.

The third Muslim leader who has been denied a ticket is Habibur Rahman, the current MLA from Nagaur. Rahman resigned from the party on Tuesday, saying that he took the decision as there is “discontent among my supporters against the party’s decision to drop my name this time”.

The minority cell of the Rajasthan BJP to wrote a letter to PM Modi, Amit Shah and Vasundhara Raje, in the wake of recent happenings, reported India Today.
However, in the second list to the party has not given ticket to any Muslim candidate.

(With inputs from PTI)