FIFA U-17 World Cup all set to kick start from tomorrow

India is hosting and playing its first-ever FIFA tournament


Chennai: The FIFA U-17 World Cup is all set to kick start from October 6 at 5 PM IST in Delhi and Mumbai followed by matches in Goa, Kochi, Kolkata and Guwahati.

This is the first time in 87 years that India is going to play and host a FIFA world Cup.

First two games of the tournament feature Colombia take on Ghana in Group A in Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi. At the same time, New Zealand will play Turkey in a Group B contest at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Round of 16 will start from October 16, the quarter-finals from October 21, Semifinals on October 25 and the final on October 28. It paves way for India to host bigger tournaments in the future.

India face USA on October 6, before locking horns with Colombia and Ghana on October 9 and October 12 respectively in New Delhi.


Extended Facilities:

Several facilities have been introduced by the State Governments of India for the ease of commute of football fans.  At least 600 buses, including 430 air-conditioned coaches, will be pressed into service for the FIFA Under-17 World cup matches from October 8, West Bengal Transport minister Suvendu Adhikari said.


Where can you watch it:

Sony Pictures Network hold the broadcast rights for the FIFA Under-17 World Cup. The tournament will be shown across the properties with it airing on Sony Ten 2, Sony Ten 2 HD, Sony ESNP, Sony ESPN HD with English commentary. Sony Ten 3 and Sony Ten 3 HD will carry the broadcast in Hindi and Bengali commentary. It will also be available on free-to-air DD Sports to give it a wider coverage.


Participating teams- 

Total 24 teams were drawn into six groups of four teams, with host India being allocated to position A1.

Group A: India, United States, Colombia and Ghana.

Group B: Paraguay, Mali, New Zealand and Turkey.

Group C: Iran, Guinea, Germany and Costa Rica.

Group D: North Korea, Niger, Brazil and Spain

Group E: Honduras, Japan, New Caledonia and France

Group F: Iraq, Mexico, Chile and England




Schedule for week 1: