FIFA ‘The Best’ Awards 2018: Modric steals show; Ronaldo and Messi absent


September 24, 2018

London: Luka Modric was named the Best Fifa Footballer of the Year beating Mohamed Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo at the award ceremony in London.

The Croatian midfielder becomes the first player other than Ronaldo and Messi to win since Kaka in 2007.

Mohamed Salah won the Fifa Puskas award for his goal against Everton. Brazil and Orlando Pride player Marta was named Best Women’s Player for a record-breaking sixth time. Thibaut Courtois won the Best Goalkeeper award. France national team coach Didier Deschamps and Lyon manager Reynald Pedros won Best Men’s and Women’s Coach respectively.

The Best Fifa Men’s and Women’s Player

Luka Modric bagged the biggest award of the night beating Ronaldo and Salah. After receiving the trophy he stated that it was a great honour to win the trophy.He also congratulated the other two contenders for the great season they had. He mentioned that the trophy was not his mine but it is for family and team-mates of Real Madrid and the Croatian national team.

Image source- Reuters/John Sibley

Marta of Brazil and Orlando Pride was crowned the biggest award in the women’s category beating Ada Hegerberg of Norway and Dzsenifer Marozsan of Germany.

The Fifa Puskás Award

The Fifa Puskás Award is  warded to the player judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant, or “most beautiful”, goal of the year.

Image source-—

The ten goals battling for the award were:

  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid vs Liverpool)
  • Denis Cheryshev (Russia vs Croatia)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid vs Juventus)
  • Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK vs Olympiakos)
  • Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro vs America MG)
  • Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets vs Melbourne City)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina vs Nigeria, World Cup)
  • Benjamin Pavard (France vs Argentina, World Cup)
  • Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal vs Iran, World Cup)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool vs Everton)

Mohamed Salah of Liverpool won the best goal award for his goal against Everton in the merseyside derby on Dec 10, 2017.

The Best Fifa Men’s and Women’s Coach


Image source-Reuters/John Sibley

Didier Deschamps of France bagged the award beating Zlatko Dalic an Zinedine Zidane. Didier Deschamps led France to World Cup glory this summer and became only the third man to do so as a player and coach.

Image source-,136462.html

Reynald Pedros won the award for the women’s section beating Asaka Takakura of Japan and Sarina Wiegman of Netherlands. Reynald Pedros saw his team Lyon to league and UEFA Women’s Champions League double.

The Best Fifa Goalkeeper

Image source-

Former Chelsea keeper Thibaut Courtois bagged the award beating Kasper Schmeichel of Denmark and Hugo Lloris of France.

Fifa Fifpro World11

Image source- Getty Images

The World11 was also announced leaving out Mohamed Salah. The team consists of David De Gea, Dani Alves, Raphael Varane, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, N’Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Fifa Fair Play Award

Image source-

German striker Lennart Thy missed a game for VVV-Venlo against PSV Eindhoven to donate stem cells to try and help a Leukaemia patient.Thy, who was on loan at the top-flight Dutch club from Werder Bremen, was a DNA match. He bagged the award for this activity.

The Fifa Fan Award 

Image source-

The Peru fans got the nod for this one, in an award voted for by the fans.

Ronaldinho and Gianluca Vialli were the most stylishly dressed at the event and they sported hats.