DSC Prize Longlist announced

Source: http://dscprize.com/

The long list of DSC Prize, 2018 for South Asian Literature was announced on October 10 at Oxford Bookstore in New Delhi.

The Longlist for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature has been released yesterday on Twitter.

It consists of 16 entries includes:

• Anuradha Roy’s All The Lives We Never Lived

• Arundhati Roy’s The Ministry of Utmost Happiness

• Chandrakanta’s The Saga of Satisar — translated by Ranjana Kaul

• Deepak Unnikrishnan’s Temporary People

• Jayant Kaikini’s No Presents Please: Mumbai Stories — translated from Kannada by Tejaswini Niranjana

• Jeet Thayil’s The Book of Chocolate Saints, Kamila Shamsie’s Home Fire

• Manu Joseph’s Miss Laila Armed and Dangerous

• Mohsin Hamid’s Exit West

• Neel Mukherjee’s A State of Freedom

• Perumal Murugan’s Poonachi

• Prayaag Akbar’s Leila

• Rita Chowdhury’s Chinatown Days

• SJ Sindhu’s Marriage of a Thousand Lies

• Sujit Saraf’s Harilal & Sons

• Tabish Khair’s Night of Happiness 

The announcement was made by Rudrangshu Mujherjee, writer and historian. He will be this year’s jury chairperson, along with Surine Narula, founder of the DSC Prize, on the dais. They spoke about about the awards and judgment process. Other Jury members are Tissa Jayatilaka, Nandana Sen and Claire Armistead.

A panel discussion was hosted, after the announcement, on South Asian writing with Rakshanda Jalil, Arunava Sinha and Amrita Bhalla.