BSP’s Chief Mayawati Suspends 7 Rebel MLAs After They Met Akhilesh Yadav 

Four of them already signed an affidavit accusing their signatures of being forged on Ramji Gautam’s nominations for Rajya Sabha elections 

by Nirlipta Patnaik

Bahujan Samaj party’s supremo Mayawati suspended seven rebel MLA’s from her party on Thursday after they dissent on the nomination of Ramji Gautam as the official candidate for the Rajya Sabha elections. The seven MLAs include Chaudhary Aslam Ali, Sushma Patel, Hargovind Bhargava, Hakim Lal Bind, Mohammad Mujtaba Siddiqui, Aslam Raini, and Bandana Singh.
The seven MLA s have met SP chief Akhilesh Yadav on Wednesday expressing their discords over Rajya Sabha candidate.

Four of them have also filed an affidavit, accusing of their signatures being forged on the nomination of the BSP’s national coordinator and Bihar in-charge Ramji Gautam’s nomination for the Rajya Sabha elections. However, the Election Commission has accepted Gautam’s nomination as the BSP candidate for the November 9 elections.

The internal conflict in BSP is with the upcoming election has taken a new face. BSP’s soft corner for BJP further exasperated the party members.

BSP Chief Mayawati further says that her party will vote for BJP or any party’s candidate in future UP MLC elections, to defeat Samajwadi Party’s second candidate.

She further added that “When we saw Samajwadi Party’s behavior towards us after the Lok Sabha election results, we realized that we have committed a big mistake by taking back our 2nd June 1995 case against them and we shouldn’t have joined hands with them. We should’ve thought a bit deeply.”

“Any party candidate, who’ll be dominant over SP’s 2nd candidate, will get all BSP MLAs’ vote for sure,” she said.

A senior Samajwadi Party leader said the “Political understanding” between the BJP and the BSP “is revealed to all and that’s what we wanted”. “The BSP high command is not listening to their MLAs, that’s why they are coming towards the SP,” the leader added.

According to the sources in the BSP agreed, saying “Mayawati’s soft corner towards the BJP is among the reasons behind the MLAs’ rebellion.”